Musical Theatre and Drama for 5 to 16 years

Trinity Arts Award


Arts Award is a range of unique qualifications that supports anyone aged up to 25 to grow as artists and arts leaders, inspiring them to connect with and take part in the wider arts world through challenges in an art form - from fashion to digital art, pottery to poetry.


Offered at five different levels, young people get to:

• discover the enjoyment of creating and participating in any art form

• develop their creativity and leadership skills

• learn new skills and share them with others

• get to work with or experience working with creative arts professionals

• gain experience and knowledge to progress into further education and employment.


To achieve their Arts Award, young people take on challenges in an art form, participate in arts activities, experience arts events, get inspired by artists and share their arts skills with others.


Young people create a portfolio to keep a record of their creative journey.

Along the way they are supported by an Arts Award adviser, acting as assessors, facilitators and mentors. Arts Awards are about supporting young people to develop their creativity in a variety of art forms.


Arts Award's mission is to support young people who want to deepen their engagement with the arts, build creative and leadership skills and to achieve national recognised qualifications.

Arts Award is managed by Trinity College London in association with Arts Council England working with 10 regional Bridge organisations.




Arts Award has five levels. Children and young people aged up to 25 can explore any art form including performing arts, visual arts, literature, media and multimedia.

These are the five levels.

1. DISCOVER - an introductory award for anyone up to 25 years.

This award provides a great introduction to the arts and to other Arts Award levels.


2. EXPLORE - An entry level qualification for anyone aged 7 to 25.

Young people collect their arts experiences in an Explore arts log as they go along, recording what they find and enjoy.


3. BRONZE - a Level 1 qualification for anyone aged 11 to 25.

Young people need to plan their work with an adviser, and keep a record by creating their own Arts Award portfolio. Their portfolio might be a folder, sketchbook, video diary or a website – it’s up to them.


4. SILVER - a Level 2 qualification for anyone aged 14 to 25.

Silver has two units – Unit 1: arts practice and Unit 2: arts leadership. Doing Silver involves achieving an arts challenge, reviewing arts events, researching artists and arts organisations and delivering an arts leadership project with other people.

Young people need to plan their work with an adviser and keep a record by creating their own Arts Award portfolio.


5. GOLD - a Level 3 qualification for anyone aged 16 to 25.

The Gold Award develops young people’s creativity, communication, planning, teamwork and leadership skills. The award is also recognised on the UCAS Tariff.

Gold has two units – Unit 1: personal arts development and Unit 2: arts project leadership.

Young people need to plan their work with an adviser, and keep a record by creating their own Arts Award portfolio. Young people can pick their own style of portfolio – this could be a diary, video, website blog – or something different altogether.


Ratzcool enters students for the relevant awards for the child.








London Academy of Music & Dramatic Art


LAMDA is an awarding organisation, delivering qualifications in communication and performance and inspiring confident communicators through examinations in drama, literature and poetry.



1. INTRODUCTORY EXAMS for groups and individuals

2. COMMUNICATION EXAMS: speaking verse and prose; reading for performance; speaking n public

3. INDIVIDUAL PERFORMANCE EXAMS: acting; devising drama; miming

4. GROUP PERFORMANCE EXAMS: acting; devising drama; recital; choral speaking

5. MUSICAL THEATRE EXAMS: solo/duo musical theatre; group musical theatre


For Ratzcool enquiries telephone

01945 47 44 47

or email administrator: